The degree of Doctor of Philosophy is normally awarded to full-time candidates after three years of supervised research work culminating in the submission of a thesis, and attendance at lectures and colloquia as directed by the supervisor(s).

The Senate appoints for each candidate a primary and a secondary supervisor of whom at least one is a member of the academic staff of the University. A third supervisor may be appointed in exceptional cases where such an appointment is deemed to be necessary.

The candidate is required to take an oral examination after the submission of his/her thesis.

For more information about the scope of the degree of Doctor of Philosophy, please refer to Regulation 6.